Does Anybody Really Care about a Fifth Cousin?  Are Collateral Lines Relevant?

Had to share this wonderful post from the BrotmanBlog!

Do I care about 5th cousins? Absolutely! In my father’s paternal line the only living relatives I know are Emil, my 5th cousin once removed, and his daughter and granddaughter, my 5th cousins twice and thrice removed. I stumbled upon his Hungarian genealogy website accidentally. We began corresponding with help from Google translate and my Hungarian tutor.

Last summer we travelled to Hungary and met him and his wife. Emil and I were delighted to find little things we had in common. We had both studied mathematics and worked in IT. And we both love our cats!
His daughter and I are now friends on Facebook. I can see little sparks of family resemblance in her pictures.
Someday I hope to find closer relatives on that line who might have known my father or his parents in Hungary. But I treasure these few that I know.

Brotmanblog: A Family Journey

y Sg647112c (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons y Sg647112c (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons I have been spending many hours recently researching the children, grandchildren and other descendants of the siblings of my three-times great-grandparents.  Sometimes I find myself thinking, “Why am I researching these people?  They are my third cousins twice removed or my fifth cousins or my second cousins four times removed…or whatever.”  Although I’ve had moments of wondering this before, it’s been especially true for the Nusbaum clan, who for the most part flew under the radar and did not have lots of juicy or interesting stories to tell—they were mostly law abiding merchants; they lived their lives quietly and out of the public eye.  They were not politicians or inventors or criminals or performers.  They did not change history.  Sometimes when I learn that a particular relative had no children, I am relieved.  One more line has been completed.

View original post 723 more words

2 thoughts on “Does Anybody Really Care about a Fifth Cousin?  Are Collateral Lines Relevant?

Leave a Reply

